

Hydro Place. 500 Columbus Drive. P.O. Box 12400. St. John's. NL Canada A1B 4K7 t. 709.737.1400 f. 709.737.1800 www.nlh.nl.ca

August 27, 2018

Board of Commissioners of Public Utilities Prince Charles Building 120 Torbay Road, P.O. Box 21040 St. John's, NL A1A 5B2

## Attention: Ms. Cheryl Blundon Director of Corporate Services & Board Secretary

Dear Ms. Blundon:

## Re: Timing of the Labrador Island Link (LIL) and the Labrador Transmission Assets (LTA), and 2017 GRA forecast customer rate impacts for 2019

On July 20, 2018, Hydro filed supplemental evidence reflecting the April 11, 2018 and the July 16, 2018 GRA settlement agreements (the Settlement Agreement Filing). The basis for the 2018 and 2019 Test Year supply costs reflected in the Settlement Agreement Filing assumed a material ramp-up in off-island purchases over the LIL beginning October 1, 2018 and a monopole commissioning date for the LIL in late October 2018 (assuming available supply of 225 MW at Muskrat Falls). The LIL monopole commissioning date is the date upon which Hydro would be required to begin paying the operating and maintenance costs for the LIL and the LTA.

Hydro has been informed that due to HVdc control equipment software issues, the LIL monopole commissioning date must be revised. Based on discussions with Nalcor Power Supply, Hydro believes a January 1, 2019 date is more probable with a ramp-up in off-island purchases beginning in early December 2018 (i.e. with 110 MW available supply at Soldier's Pond in December 2018 and 170 MW available during 2019). Hydro plans to file an update late next week providing a revised forecast of off-island purchases for 2018 and 2019, and the revised 2017 GRA customer rate projections for 2019 reflecting the revised monopole commissioning date.

Should you have any questions, please contact the undersigned.

Yours truly,

Newfoundland & Labrador Hydro

Geoffrey P. Young J Corporate Secretary & General Counsel GPY/sk

cc: Gerard Hayes - Newfoundland Power Paul Coxworthy - Stewart McKelvey Denis J. Fleming - Cox & Palmer

ecc: Van Alexopoulos - Iron Ore Company Senwung Luk - Olthuis Kleer Townshend LLP Dennis Browne, Q.C. – Brown Fitzgerald Morgan & Avis Dean Porter - Poole Althouse

Benoît Pepin - Rio Tinto